A Challenge

Well I posted my testimony last night and it got me thinking of some stuff that I had gone thru and I decided to come up with a challenge.

Why is it that your a Christian? Is it because you were raised in church? Is it cause you were made to go to church? Is it because your friends are?

I know for me for the longest time I was serving God because he was my parents God not mine. I was raised in church so I just believed what my parents and everyone else did.

But I challenge you to pray about it and ask God who he is to you. I finally had to come to the place were I dropped God as my parents God and took Him as my own.

I believe if we are ever going to do amazing things for God its requires us knowing who he is to us. Yes we need to know him and know who we are in Him but it also requires knowing why we believe in Him and for what reasons.

So take the time and ask God to reveal Himself to you and to help you grow closer to Him.

If you have accepted the challenge and want to post who God is to you feel free to leave a comment and I plan on after getting some submissions posting another post on who God is to other people. I will take what you guys have given me so people can see who He is to others.

Feel free to contact me via email if you would rather email me your submission than post it in a comment.

Good luck and God bless ~ Jeremy Newton

4 Responses

  1. I greatly despised church and God when I was growing up. Had He not chosen me for some unknown reason, I would still be on my way to eternal death. He’s the Life Giver. To satisfy His love, He died for us, so that we may live.

    I am worried about the question of “who is God to you.” The Bible is very clear about who God is. Yes, He reaches people in different ways, but His character is consistent. He is true to His promises, and faithful to His Word. Many people are trying to find a God that works for them, but this is not the God of the Bible.

    Nobody is a Christian because their parents are, because they grew up in a church, or because their friends are. It is only the belief that Jesus died for our sins, and was resurrected…plain and simple. We are led to that belief in many ways, but no matter how it happens, it is always because of God. We can be told about Jesus by many people, but it is the Holy Spirit that convicts us, and makes us realize that we are dead without Christ.

    Thanks for the comment Jeremy, and keep up the good work for His Kingdom!

  2. I know no ones a Christian because there parents are. The way I meant it was that I didn’t really know God but I thought I did cause of my parents. I wasn’t serving God for me I was pretending to server him for them.

    Basically I issued the challenge to get people to think of were they are with God. No one is a Christian unless they are born again. But there are so many people that think cause they are good they are going to heaven.

    I understand your comment. I really should have worded what I meant better. So thanks for pointing that out and I will be more careful next time.

  3. Jeremy, I wasn’t correcting you, I was agreeing with what you were saying. I understood what you were talking about. The only ones who might not understand are the ones who you are actually referring to.

    Anyway, keep on writing Jeremy! I want to see more posts, and I want to see you posing more questions to the many confused Christians out there!

  4. He is my guideing light in a dark and gloomy world. He is my stength in a world with little hope. He is my greatest love in a world full of hate. He is my best friend in a world that doesn’t care to know him. HE is my LORD and SAVIOR.

Leave a Reply

