A Ponderation On Life

So my whole youth group for the month of January has been doing a 31 day fast and I remembered today that Thursday is the last day of the fast. But then I got to thinking “Ok I know God has done awesome stuff this month and awesome stuff in me” But I needed to sit and ponder it to see the broad spectrum of what he has done. So I am going to post about that and what he has done in me.

Well first of we really started hitting theLife.jpg
volunteering with the middle school this hard. We have been going in during lunch and hanging with the kids and getting to know them. It’s been awesome and I have met some great kids, but thru this whole experience my heart has been transformed in a way I never thought it would have been. See I noticed that if I missed a day or didn’t get to go down there I felt guilty it was weird to me at first. So I prayed to God “Why do I feel guilty if I miss” and he reminded me that back in August that he showed me a vision of the middle school and he wanted me to get in there and help. Well and that worked I am in there along with some friends from church also. So I realized that I was feeling guilty cause I knew God had called me to be there and I was missing out.

But thru this fast I realized that I had taken a step and had gotten in there and started helping out but God wasn’t finished. He gave me a vision of me going into the middle school, now he has given me a vision of the middle school’s culture being completely changed. He gave me a dream of the kids getting involved in church. But thru connecting with the students during the lunch hours and volunteering with some painting my heart has been transformed more. I now feel connected to the school in a whole new way. I cant sleep at night without praying for the school and the kids in it. God has added to my journey in amazing ways.

Well during the fast I sat down and asked God “Lord, I have taken the first step now what do you want me to do?”. Well he answered and he gave me more than one answer. He answered for what he wanted me to do in the school and then gave me more insight into what he wanted me to do in my life in the future.

First for the school; He told me he wanted me to just connect. It was cool thought cause when he said that it reminded me of what paul said in 1 Corinthians 9:19-23

1 Corinthians 9:19-23 (The Message)

19-23 Even though I am free of the demands and expectations of everyone, I have voluntarily become a servant to any and all in order to reach a wide range of people: religious, nonreligious, meticulous moralists, loose-living immoralists, the defeated, the demoralized—whoever. I didn’t take on their way of life. I kept my bearings in Christ—but I entered their world and tried to experience things from their point of view. I’ve become just about every sort of servant there is in my attempts to lead those I meet into a God-saved life. I did all this because of the Message. I didn’t just want to talk about it; I wanted to be in on it!

But when he reminded me of it he showed me my life and said that is you and you are living it out. it was really cool cause I really got to see that I have been doing what God has wanted me to do in this stage of my life.

He also pointed out that cause of my age I have a great opportunity to be doing what I am doing cause I’m still a teenager so I still have that special connection with other teens. It was really cool to hear God tell me all this.

Then for the last part. I have known I was suppose to be a youth pastor but God showed me a little more into that. He told me “I have given you a vision of this school and you have done that and I have transformed your heart for this school and the kids in it, I have given you this heart to prepare you. I want you to be a Junior Hight Youth Pastor.”

It was like a huge eye opener. I kinda questions why in the world would God be wanting me to do this and why did he show me this. Well I now know why. He is training me for my future and the coolest part of it all is I have met some amazing people and I get to make an impact on my community.

I can honestly say the last 6 months or so I have felt gloomy cause I knew what God wanted and I was doing it but I didn’t understand at all. Well he showed me.

So to summarize . I compel everyone that is on this fast to ponder the fast and what God has done. You will be surprised. It’s no coincidence that God has called us to fast the first month of the year. He is showing us Him for the next year and what he wants us to do this year to make a move for Christ

Much Love ~ Jeremy Newton

5 Responses

  1. Jeremy,
    This is probably your best blog yet… It’s great to see where God is taking you as you discover your place in Him!

  2. What do you think about going another 30 days on your fast and seeing what God does. I am seriuosly thinking about it. Do you think the longer you go and the more your flesh dies and your spirit becomes stronger that God will use you to do greater things……

  3. I actually have thought about it. It’s gotten to the point were its like second nature for me not to listen to secular music so I have been thinking about doing it.

  4. great thoughts…wonderful to hear you are seeking God with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength. Just remember to stay in God’s Word Daily, and allow Him to speak to you through it.
    nice post…
    -jeanette

  5. Jeremy that is so amazingly awesome!!

Leave a Reply

