Afraid = Trouble

Well I think I have finally come down of my halo 3 high lol. So now I’m back to reality and am focusing more. I will admit my God time has lacked this past week cause of that game. So I’m really fighting hard to make sure that I stay on track especially this next week so I’m ready for Slovakia for the mission trip.

God is already doing great things in our planning for this trip and when we get there this trip is going to be so amazing. I’ve been once before but this year is just different like I feel God so much more now than I did last time and I know the expectation’s he has for us on this trip.

Before I start with the rest of this blog I want to tell you guys and gals that I am so sorry that I have neglected my blog this last week I will try not to do it again. Although it will happen for two weeks cause Im leaving on friday for 2 weeks for the mission trip but tell then I still have some time to leave you guys with some stuff.

Well I have been reading some proverbs the last couple days just cause I needed some life lessons and God gave me something for my life as a Christian and as a guy that is going to be a youth pastor.

Proverbs 29:25(NCV)

25 Being afraid of people can get you into trouble,
but if you trust the Lord, you will be safe.

Now that is huge cause growing up I have always been afraid of talking to people or being in a place or town that I am not familiar with. But God showed me the hope now for those situations. I will be keeping this close to my heart during the mission trip cause I don’t want me to get in the way of someone connecting with God.

If you are into football at all there is a famous coach for FSU and his name is Bobby Bowden. Now I got to hear some of his life on tv this morning and this guy is amazing. He is a christian and hearing what people have to say about his life you could truly see he was a true Christian and showed God’s love. My favorite thing he said in the interview was this

We don’t have to save people, All we have to do is make God available thru us and then it’s up to him to save them.

I’ve heard it before but it was so different this time it really struck me. Especially cause I don’t like sports and for me to hear this from a coach I really respect his life just find a little bio on him or something and you will be to he is an amazing man.

Now talking about amazing men I want to talk to you about my cousin. He posted a wonderful post that God had given him about being a man of God and I want to post that so you guys can read it.

This is what it means to be a real man, speaking from the truth and biblically:

A real man:
…understands and lives according to the basic purposes for which he was created: to worship, honor, and serve God. (Romans 12:1-2)
…values and carefully handles the scriptures. (2 Timothy 2:15)
…doesn’t pride himself on being knowledgeable in the sinful ways of the world.
(1 John 2:15-16, James 4:4, Philippians 4:8)
…isn’t embarrassed to worship God and pray in a group setting. (Mark 8:38)
…is wise, yet humble. (Proverbs 2:1-10, 1 Peter 5:5, Romans 12:16)
…takes leadership in a self-sacrificing way. (Ephesians 5:25-28)
…is kind because, “What is desirable in man is his kindness” (Proverbs 19:22)
…doesn’t try to prove himself but is simply confident as he walks in the fear of the Lord. (Proverbs 14:26-27)
…doesn’t put others down with his actions, attitude, words, or his strength. But on the contrary, he affirms and builds others up (Proverbs 15:4, Ephesians 4:29)
…treats his sisters and mother with as much respect as he would treat a prospective wife. (Matthew 25:21)
…not only respects but appreciates a young lady’s purity and innocence. In our culture innocence isn’t retained by accident. (2 Corinthians 11:2-3)
…values his purity as much as he values a young lady’s purity. He is not ashamed to live and act differently from the world in order to guard himself. (1 Thessalonians 4:1-8, Ecclesiastes 7:26)
…can look a girl straight in the eye without communicating any impurity. (Proverbs 20:11)
…isn’t ashamed to identify himself with his family (Ephesians 6:2-3)
…is a gentleman. He is polite and shows women honor in everyday things such as opening doors, etc. (1 Peter 3:7)
…has no desire to be gross in order to impress other men. He doesn’t burp, swear, or tell disgusting stories. (Proverbs 13:5, Ephesians 5:4)
…shows by his actions that he loves children. (Matthew 19:13-14)
…is pleasant and expresses joy rather than feeling that it’s masculine to be sullen. (Proverbs 21:29, 1 Thessalonians 5:16)
…doesn’t blame others for his own problems but embraces responsibility. (Proverbs 12:27)
…can accept correction (Proverbs 12:1, Proverbs 29:1)
…is mature in his emotions and his expressions of them. He can deal with the trials of life logically, with wisdom, not on a basis of emotional instability. (Proverbs 14:29, Proverbs 17:27, Proverbs 12:18)
…understands the value of work and is financially responsible. (Colossians 3:23-24, 2 Thessalonians 3:10-12, Luke 16:10-11)
…expresses himself with intelligent words rather than using “street talk”. (Proverbs 17:20, Titus 2:6-8, 1 Peter 4:11, Ephesians 4:29)

I read this and I think he read it somewhere but I don’t remember where but it was truly an amazing find and I hope it helps all you guys also.

Well I posted kinda of a long one and so I want to end now as not to bore anyone.

Much Love ~ Jeremy

One Response

  1. Wow I really liked what u had to say about being afraid cuz I have been in that place before and its not a good place to be in, but when you are in that place just go to God and not let the fear hold u down, cuz it just gets worse and worse and sooner or later your in this place that is really bad and its really hard to get out of so follow after God and just go crazy for God.

    Love you
    haley

Leave a Reply

