Getting The Most Out Of My Blog

Ok this Blog post is about how to get the most out of my blog with the features I have provided.

First off is RSS(Really Simple Syndication)

Straight From the wikipedia article on RSS

RSS (which, in its most recent format, stands for “Really Simple Syndication”) is a family of web feed formats used to publish frequently updated content such as blog entries, news headlines or podcasts. An RSS document, which is called a “feed”, “web feed”, or “channel”, contains either a summary of content from an associated web site or the full text. RSS makes it possible for people to keep up with their favorite web sites in an automated manner that’s easier than checking them manually.

RSS content can be read using software called a “feed reader” or an “aggregator.” The user subscribes to a feed by entering the feed’s link into the reader or by clicking an RSS icon in a browser that initiates the subscription process. The reader checks the user’s subscribed feeds regularly for new content, downloading any updates that it finds.

The initials “RSS” are used to refer to the following formats:

* Really Simple Syndication (RSS 2.0)
* RDF Site Summary (RSS 1.0 and RSS 0.90)
* Rich Site Summary (RSS 0.91)

RSS formats are specified using XML, a generic specification for the creation of data formats.

The RSS logo is the little orange wireless looking logo you see on the right. Now you need a reader to read rss. Most web browsers have it but some don’t. I use Vienna for my desktop rss reader but its a mac program so I don’t know what RSS reader windows people would want to use lol.

RSS Via Email

Ok in the links on the left you will see it. What it is, is when you click it it will take you to a site to fill out a form and you will get my RSS emailed to you if you don’t want or have a reader. Now my rss feed includes the full post so you will get all my blog post. But if you want it to look pretty I suggest you read it on my website =)

My Feedburner

The “My Feedburner” link is a website that you go to to read the RSS feed on your browser without having to have a reader or anything.

My Twitter

The “My Twitter” link is a place were you sign up and make an account and sink your phone to it and you will get txt messages of your friends updates. Now my twitter is set to update you when I post a new blog post and the title of it. So if you have txt messaging I suggest you sign up for it so you can always know when I update.

Technocrati

Ok basically this uploads my new blog posts to their website and its a place of a bunch of blogs and people go on and search for blogs they want to read about and what’s hot in the blogging world. If you want to find more about this I made the header for this a link so you can click it and go to the site.

Now There will be more features coming soon that I want to implement and I will post an update when I get them set up. So for now use the resources I have provided and have fun, And most of all seek God in everything you do.

Much Love ~ Jeremy

Leave a Reply

